Vacation Time is restful time..

Here I am, Day 3 of Atlanta and I am not in Crazytown nearly as often as I thought.   The Fiancé and I have had discussions here and there, about what we’ll do when all of our things are here, and what we’ll paint, etc.   But the largest topic of conversation has really been about whether or not we will use his bed, my bed, or buy a new bed.  Nothing’s been decided there, so there’s little to report.

However, the room that has been on my mind is the guest bathroom.  It seems like a safe enough choice, and it doesn’t require all of our things being here to get started on.  The guest bathroom in this house also holds the washer and dryer.  It’s not quite as optimal as having a dedicated laundry room, but I’ve decided I don’t mind it at all.  It certainly has its benefits.  Namely:

  1. I cannot put off laundry and just stuff it in the laundry room before guests come over. (I mean.. other people DO this, right?  I can’t be the only one!)
  2. I will be making a daily trip into that room, ensuring that my Monkeyface is not leaving her clothes laying about or toothpaste dripped into the sink. (When she and I have separate bathrooms, I don’t use hers much and so every Saturday when I go in to clean it, I’ve come across some unpleasant surprises.)

Unfortunately, I left my camera at home and only have my phone to take pictures with while I’m here (dammit!), but I did snap a few pictures for you guys.  Here’s what we’re working with:

It’s a pretty run-of-the-mill, somewhat small bathroom.  But I like the mirror and vanity a lot.  The layout is pretty basic, and I don’t mind that at all.  The bi-fold doors were removed years ago which in my opinion, was a good choice.   Of course, now the washer-dryer are exposed to the room, but it also makes it feel quite a bit larger.

My thoughts are that I will hang curtains in front of the washer/dryer, but instead of hanging them outside of the doorway trim, I will hang them on the inside, so that they can be pulled back, completely out of sight when I choose to.  I think that this will help preserve the open feeling that nook gives the room.  It also will give a sense of reason between the curtains on that wall and the curtains on the shower not being the same height.

Speaking of shower curtains..  I saw something on Pinterest last week that has some promise.  I am not 100% sold on the shape of the valance, but I really like that these curtains go all the way to the ceiling, and open in the middle, giving some drama and height to the room.  I imagine that the liner is tucked away behind one of them and just pulls closed when you are taking a shower.  Seeing that treatment in what looks the to be a bathroom approximately the size of the of the one I will be working with has also helped me to envision it working in this bathroom.  I have zero idea what type of material and paint colors I will be using in this room.  My bathroom in Florida is currently a black-and-white toile sort of theme, which I intend to put into the Master bathroom here.  The other bathroom set that I have is fishies, and that just won’t work.

So, I’m open to suggestions!   Given that I really love the idea of this curtain treatment, and there will be additional curtains hung on the interior of the washer/dryer nook…  And keeping in mind that I will be keeping the mirror and vanity set up, what would you do?  What do you envision for this space?

Leave me a comment! (I love them!)

