Foodie Friday: Eggplant Rollatini

Recently my Monkey requested Eggplant Rollatini.  I make mine a little differently than the traditional rollatini… It’s kind of a hybrid of tradition, plus this amazing appetizer I had once upon a time that I thought would be a nice fusion of ideas. Here’s what I did:

Slice an eggplant length-wise into 1/4 thick slices. For these, I also sliced them lengthwise, in half. So, you have basically 2-3″ x 1/4″ x however long the eggplant is… slices.

Dip those eggplant strips into an eggwash, and then into panko bread crumbs. To the bread crumbs, I added some dried rosemary, oregano and thyme. Then I plunked them onto a cookie sheet and stuck them into a 375 degree oven.

After 5-7 minutes, I turned them over and baked them for another 2-3 minutes.

Meanwhile, I sliced some mozzarella into 1/8-inch thick strips and set them aside.

I made some pasta (I used thin spaghetti because it’s what I had on hand, but I usually use angel hair) and let it cool while I was doing the eggplant business. I tossed it lightly in olive oil to keep it from clumping together.

One the eggplant came out of the oven, I laid the strips on my cutting board and laid a piece of the mozzarella on them, then made little pasta nests at one end of the eggplant strips and rolled the strips around the pasta. I slid them into a cold skillet once they were all rolled up.

Then I added some homemade marinara that I had in the fridge to the tops. I also made a quick bechamel sauce, and drizzled just a bit of it over the tops. I finely grated a little extra of the cheese on top and popped it into the oven, just to heat through and melt the cheese.

And I sprinkled it with parsley, and voila!

2 comments on “Foodie Friday: Eggplant Rollatini

  1. sybaritica says:

    Really nice idea … probably work nicely with strips of Zuchinni too!

Leave me a comment! (I love them!)

